Pac Premier
Giving Guide
You are here:  Home  >  Current Article

Romero election highlights SLO

By   /   Friday, November 7th, 2008  /   Comments Off on Romero election highlights SLO

    Print       Email

In the city of San Luis Obispo, longtime incumbent Dave Romero garnered more than 67 percent of the vote, beating challenger Terry Mohan by a landslide. The city’s newest council members are Jan Marx and John B. Ashbaugh, who won 25 and 23 percent of the votes respectively, narrowly edging out incumbent Paul Brown, Dan Carpenter, Arnold Ruiz and Marcia Nelson. In other results:

• Former Mayor Jerry L. Clay, Sr. was re-elected to his seat on the Atascadero City Council. Roberta Fonzi and Bob Kelley also garnered more votes than Len Colamarino, Pamela Heatherington and Bret Heinemann. Also in Atascadero, Measure D-08 was rejected by 68 percent of voters, paving the way for Wal-Mart to start negotiations with the city.

• In Grover Beach, John P. Shoals raked in 62 percent of the votes to become mayor. Chuck Ashton received 37.5 percent. Karen Bright, 37.51, and Debbie Peterson, 33.77, edged out Liz Doukas, 28.18.

• Morro Bay’s results showed that George Leage wasn’t quite able to edge out current mayor Janice Peters, who garnered just 48 more votes than Leage. Noah Smukler and Carla Borchard will serve Morro Bay as its new city council members, taking the seat of incumbent Bill Peirce and beating Roger Ewing.

• Paso Robles City Council members Duane Picanco and Gary Allen Nemeth were neck-and-neck in the Paso Robles mayoral race, with Picanco ahead by a mere 36 votes at the time of publication. When combined, John Borst and Jim Norman’s votes were still much less than either Picanco or Nemeth. The city council members elected Nov. 4 were Nick Gilman and incumbent Fred Strong. Ed Steinbeck was a close third, with Donald S. Fransen, Jr. and Daniel J.Franklin trailing behind.

• In Pismo Beach, Mayor Mary Ann Reiss was re-elected by almost 63 percent of voters. Her challenger, city council member Bill Rabenaldt, received just over 36 percent of the vote. Ed Waage and incumbent Ted Ehring both garnered over 40 percent of the vote to be elected to the city council, while Wayne King fell short, capturing a little more than 16 percent of the vote.

• Also in San Luis Obispo, Measure E-08 was passed by 54.5 percent of voters. The measure will make it possible to change the city’s charter.

Are you a subscriber? If not, sign up today and get four free issues of the Pacific Coast Business Times!

    Print       Email